If You Like Diana Wynne Jones, Read These!

I posted this on Instagram and thought, you know, it’s basically a blog post. So I’m sharing here too. Just a quick shout out to a few DWJ-ish books I love! (I’m sure there are more. These are the first ones I could think of, though.)

I thought it would be fun, for #MarchMagics, to shoutout a handful of books that give me DWJ vibes. Those vibes aren’t always…explainable, exactly? But something about them reminds me of DWJ books, something we DWJ fans are often on the lookout for. πŸ˜‰ So, aside from Terry Pratchett…

If you like Diana Wynne Jones books, check these out!

1. Paper Crowns by Mirriam Neal — This was one of the first DWJ-esque books I read so it has a special place here! A shapeshifting cat, a heroine who feels like she would be quite at home in a DWJ novel, a cantankerous young wizard, even a magical flame character, and all wrapped up in one of the most whimsical, delightful books I’ve read in my life.

2. Lady Moon by Rachel Starr Thomson — Another of the most delightfully whimsical books! A princess and flaming cat and a talking wombat are only some of the delightful things we meet in its pages, and best of all is Tomas, a somewhat Howl-esque Immortal who lives in a clocktower and is procrastinating his destiny.

3. Dana Illwind and Growing Shadows by Arthur DaigleMy giveaway for a copy of this is still running, through tomorrow (March 25)! I get big DWJ vibes from this one, for everthing from the humor and the magical chaotic bits, to the very dramatic enchanter Jayden, who is sort of halfway between Howl and Chrestomanci and is one of my fave characters ever.

4. The City Between series by W.R. Gingell — Humorous, occasionally creepy, urban fantasy in modern-day Tasmania, with a spunky unreliable narrator who goes by Pet and her “three Psychos” (a fae, a half-fae, and a vampire). Athelas and Zero are my faaave. The DWJ vibes here are strong, for me at least. (Also, Masque, and Spindle, by the same author.)

5. Echo North by Joanna Ruth Meyer — It must be the Tam Lin vibes reminding me slightly of Fire and Hemlock… Also, I met this author on Twitter during a long-ago March Magics, through a mutual love of the Dalemark Quartet! This is a lovely Beauty and the Beast/East of the Sun, West of the Moon story with characters I adore and a multi-world feeling that definitely gives me DWJ vibes.

(And of course, talking of the books in the photo, if you haven’t read Howl’s Moving Castle, Chrestomanci, Dalemark, or Fire and Hemlock, those are also good. ;))

So! If you’re a DWJ fan, what’s a book you love that reminds you of her work? Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “If You Like Diana Wynne Jones, Read These!

  1. AAAAHHHH!!! Some of my absolute favorites all in one post! ECHO NORTH. LADY MOON. PAPER CROWNS. SO MUCH YES!!! They definitely give me those Howl-like vibes, Lady Moon and Paper Crowns especially, and it just makes me so happy! I’ve still yet to read the City Between books, but her Two Monarchies Sequence books DEFINITELY feel like a DWJ-esque romp. And I cannot waaaait to read Dana Illwind! πŸ˜€

    This was so great. You always have the BEST book suggestions. (Actually, I think ALL of the ones I’ve read here were recommended by you!) The most magical of Book Fairies! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yayyyy! Haha, you also have excellent taste. πŸ˜‰ Such good Howl ish vibes, yes! Ack, I need to finish the Two Monarchies books!! I don’t know how much urban fantasy you read, so I’m curious what you would think of the City Between books…they do get a bit creepy sometimes, but I’m having a blast reading them aloud with my siblings! You should probably wait until the last ones release though, because I’m about to catch up and freaking out a little. XD Aaahh I hope you like Dana Illwind! One of my faves!

      Thank you!! I try. πŸ˜‰ *Book Fairy bow*

      Like

  2. Pingback: #MarchMagics Wrapup 2021 | The Page Dreamer

  3. Fantastic post! I’m definitely going to check out Echo North. The first one that springs to mind to add to the list is The Evil Wizard Smallbone by Delia Sherman. But I’m going to try to see if I can think of any others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I hope you enjoy Echo North if you check it out. πŸ™‚

      OH MY WORD. I’ve never heard of that one before but it looks amazing!! Thank you for the rec! That’s going on my list for sure! If you think of others, I would love to hear about them! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Discuss!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.