Archive | June 16, 2017

10 Thoughts on “Courage and Corruption” by Sarah Holman

Title: Courage and Corruption
Author: Sarah Holman

Date read: June 16, 2017
Rating: 4 stars
Genre: Christian / Adventure / Historical Fiction (in fictional country, medieval times)
Age: YA
Year pub: 2016
Pages: 161 (Kindle)
Series: Tales of Taelis, #3
Fave character: Uncle Edwin and King John
Source: Amazon
Links: Goodreads โ€ข Amazon โ€ข Author’s Website

Ten Thoughts on Courage and Corruption

1. Still enjoying this series. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think this one was the most well-written in the series yet, and itโ€™s awesome to see this authorโ€™s writing improving more and more over time!

2. Itโ€™s about a twin brother and sister (Christopher and Catherine) who donโ€™t… erm… get along. ๐Ÿ˜› They have to learn to become better people etc. There are a lot of strong Christian messages/themes along this line throughout the book. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. I didnโ€™t enjoy the first half of the story as much because it was hard reading about these characters being so angry and argumentative, so I… kind of didnโ€™t like them very much then because they had so much to learn. Likely just one of my reading quirks. ๐Ÿ˜› So for that reason, it wasnโ€™t my personal favorite of the series, even though itโ€™s the most well-written and would likely be a favorite with most readers. ๐Ÿ™‚

4. In the second half of the book, I warmed to the story much more, and I found myself quite enjoying the intrigue and excitement, once most of the character-building parts had been dealt with. ๐Ÿ™‚

5. I LOVED the plot that emerged in this one, linking back to a certain event in Adventures and Adversities, and featuring descendants of the little prince from that one! :O I was so hoping that plot would come back and it DID. ๐Ÿ˜€ That was one of my favorite things about the story. ^_^

6. My other main favorite thing was all the little stories Uncle Edwin told. ๐Ÿ™‚ That was so fun, like lots of mini tales within this one; my favorite was the one about the Shepherd King and the one about Princess Brianna and John in the garden. ๐Ÿ˜€ Lovely little follow-up to Brothers and Betrayal! AWK. Such cute. ^_^

7. Itโ€™s been great reading more of these books set in the medieval country of Taelis! I especially loved seeing familiar places like Coraway Castle and Delmore Castle (both of which are super super cool… Iโ€™d love to live in Coraway Castle! I hope to see more of it in future books too. :)).

8. There are also lots of references to characters and events from the first two books, which I loved. ^_^ (Some of thatโ€™s inevitably a little sad though, of course, with multiple generations. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But oh well. Otherwise I liked the references.)

9. Oh, and along that line, it was neat to see the main characters from Brothers and Betrayal in this one a little, much older but still lurking around being great. ๐Ÿ™‚ Bryon, John, and Brianna all make appearances. ๐Ÿ™‚

10. Overall, while some of it didnโ€™t click for me personally, I think most people would really enjoy this! If you like Christian fiction with strong themes and families and adventure and medieval times, you will probably like this one; and like I said, itโ€™s probably the most well-written yet. ๐Ÿ™‚ Can also stand alone. Iโ€™m definitely curious to continue reading this series in this lovely land of Taelis. ^_^

~ ~ ~

In the series so far (will update with links to my posts as I review them):

~ ~ ~

Thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

Dream away in those pages . . .

~ The Page Dreamer

