DWJ Quote: why should unhappy be truer?

dianawynnejonesbook

Sometimes I mean to do a post of just a book quote, if it’s a good enough one.

Well, I found one today when I read Aunt Maria by Diana Wynne Jones (in honor of Diana Wynne Jones March / March Magics).

This is how I feel about stories that people say are “realistic”, and about those who say that happily-ever-after endings aren’t realistic.

I believe that happy endings are better… and just because something’s unhappy doesn’t make it truer.

So here, have a quote I love from Diana Wynne Jones. 🙂 Her character, Mig, says it so well as she tells the story.

“There goes Mig with her happy endings again,” Chris said. But I don’t care. I like happy endings. And I asked Chris why something should be truer just because it’s unhappy. He couldn’t answer.

— “Aunt Maria” by Diana Wynne Jones

12 thoughts on “DWJ Quote: why should unhappy be truer?

  1. Okay, first of all, I LOVE the idea of an occasional book quote. Too fun!

    Second… THIS QUOTE. :O It…it…YES. It’s practically become an author’s mantra, “Sad endings are more realistic, sad endings are more realistic.” And, yeah, SOMETIMES. But HAPPINESS happens in life! And I had the exact same thought Sarah did–as Christians, we get a happily ever after. Why, as writers, are we told to fill people’s heads with ideas that life only ever ends badly? I don’t think that’s what we should be doing at all!

    But I’ll go on a whooole rant if I don’t stop. xD And I know you feel the same way because #BrainTwins So basically, I LOVE THIS QUOTE. Huzzah for DWJ!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      And YES. It had never occurred to me in this particular way until I read the quote, but I’ve always disliked the idea that unhappy = realistic. JUST NO. WHY? Ahem. XD So the quote just really made me sit up and go “OH!” Anyways, YES to everything in your comment! And hurray for DWJ, of course! 😉

      Like

  2. I love this sooo much. People think sadness is the only realistic thing in our lives, that happy endings just don’t happen. But it’s not true! Especially for Christians! Good things can and do happen. Everyday. Thanks so much for sharing! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Return of the Ishness! | The Road of a Writer

  4. Pingback: #MarchMagics Wrapup {2017} | The Page Dreamer

Discuss!

