How I Read Tag

Another tag! (Incidentally, this is my 50th post here on the Page Dreamer!!! *confetti*)

howireadtag

I was tagged once upon a time by Abi @ Rambling Writer for the How I Read Tag — thanks so much Abi! πŸ™‚

These questions look FASCINATING and like they’re going to be great fun to answer. So I shall get to it!

(P.S., you are tagged, page-dreaming readers of mine, if you want to answer them — or just answer in the comments! ^_^)

1. HOW DO YOU FIND NEW BOOKS TO READ?

LET ME COUNT THE WAYS. Mostly through Goodreads. So many books on there. Sometimes I’ll find random interesting books at library sales and bring them home. Sometimes I’ll be perusing shelves at a library and need to try some out. And the amount of times I’ll read a friend’s blog post or review and decide I need to read said book is beyond count. πŸ˜„

2. HOW DID YOU GET INTO READING?

I was homeschooled, so reading was very much encouraged. I learned to read at a very young age and was very quickly addicted, believe me. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t looked back since. BOOKS ARE LIFE.

3. HOW HAS YOUR TASTE IN BOOKS CHANGED AS YOU’VE GOTTEN OLDER?

This is a fascinating question. Well, when I was younger I read a lot more books for children… I also read a lot of older books, and more historical fiction. These days I’ve gone very into fantasy, I’ve even branched out into a couple other things like (gasp) contemporary etc., and I mostly read YA, though I do read the occasional Adult as well. I also now read newer releases a lot, which is interesting, but occasionally I do miss the days when the newest books I read were like 50 years old. πŸ˜› When I look back at how my taste has changed… I half like it and half am creeped out. πŸ˜„ I sometimes read darker stuff now, which kind of bothers me, but at the same time I’m just not real interested anymore in some of the kinds of books I read when I was younger… which is half sad, half exciting since I have found exciting fantasy etc. I don’t know. It’s very mixed.

4. HOW OFTEN DO YOU BUY BOOKS?

Not very often, actually… I usually go to a few library sales in the year, and I usually get some for my birthday and Christmas, but other than that my book-buying tendencies are limited due to limited funds and all that. (The classic broke bookworm. ;)) Unless, of course, you count ebooks, in which case I’m steadily amassing more free kindle books than I have any business acquiring, given how little I actually READ ebooks… and if I happen to have an Amazon giftcard around, sometimes I’ll buy the occasional ebook.

5. HOW DID YOU GET INTO BOOK REVIEWING?

Accidentally. πŸ˜„

A couple of author friends asked if I’d like to be a reviewer for their books. I had never done this sort of thing before but decided to try it. So I reviewed those. Then I happened to see two different authors on their blogs give a call for reviewers for books that I was really excited to read, and I signed up for those. After that, I was addicted. πŸ˜„

That’s as far as “professional” reviewing. Casual reviewing, like I ususally do on this blog, is just… whenever I feel like it. *shrug*

6. HOW DO YOU REACT IF YOU DON’T LIKE THE ENDING OF THE BOOK?

That really depends. If the book itself was good enough and outweighs the bad ending enough, then I’ll feel empty for a day or two and then eventually let the good slowly push the bad away and I’ll still love the book. But mostly if I don’t like the ending, I get depressed/sad/angry and tend to give said book a very low rating. *cough* If I read a book whose ending I don’t like, I tend to go around under a gloomy cloud all day, if not longer, so it’s very bad if I don’t like a book. πŸ˜‰

7. HOW OFTEN DO YOU TAKE A SNEAK PEEK AT THE ENDING TO SEE IF THERE’S A HAPPY ENDING?

Very rarely. I try not to spoil books for myself on purpose… but I WILL admit there have been a couple of times that I did take a look to see, if I was really worried. πŸ˜‰ It also accounts for the two books of ever that I’ve DNF-d (Did Not Finish, for those unfamiliar with the term), because I didn’t like the endings and wasn’t willing to slog through the rest if it was going end like THAT. I can’t think of other specific examples but I may have. *shrug*

***

And there you have it!

Le questions, if you’d like to do this tag:

1. HOW DO YOU FIND NEW BOOKS TO READ?
2. HOW DID YOU GET INTO READING?
3. HOW HAS YOUR TASTE IN BOOKS CHANGED AS YOU’VE GOTTEN OLDER?
4. HOW OFTEN DO YOU BUY BOOKS?
5. HOW DID YOU GET INTO BOOK REVIEWING?
6. HOW DO YOU REACT IF YOU DON’T LIKE THE ENDING OF THE BOOK?
7. HOW OFTEN DO YOU TAKE A SNEAK PEEK AT THE ENDING TO SEE IF THERE’S A HAPPY ENDING?

How about you? How has your taste in books changed, and do you think it’s a good or bad thing? How do you react to unliked endings? Do you want to do this tag?

Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

Dream away in those pages . . .

~ The Page Dreamer

12 thoughts on “How I Read Tag

  1. I may or may not steal this tag for one of my blogs. It depends. (I feel like I’ve said that before . . .)
    Sort of regarding changes in reading taste, though . . . I think that’s a mark of the best books, that even as your tastes change, you still enjoy them as you get older.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay for homeschoolers! I started reading really young too. My parents tell me I used to take all of my books off the shelf and then just start reading all of them as I put them back. πŸ˜„
    Also, we’ll be broke bookworms together. *high-fives* πŸ™‚
    I try not to spoil myself too…But sometimes I do take a peek… I also especially, when I’m reading, skim over the page to see what’s going to happen *before* actually reading the page. Sometimes without even realizing it. πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • Homeschoolers are the best. πŸ˜‰ Aww, that’s so cute. ^_^ *returns broke bookworm high-five*
      Oh oh, I do that too! I don’t mean to, but if I’m reading really fast sometimes my eyes kind of wander hurriedly to the next part and then I’m like WAIT I NEED TO ACTUALLY READ THESE WORDS IN A ROW. πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Goodreads is a great place to find books! And I was homeschooled too, and grew up in a family that encouraged reading, hence, why I love reading today. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Another awesome tag! There are just too many great tags out there. GAH.

    I totally relate to #1. When I was younger I didn’t have much access to finding new books. But now I’m DROWNING in recommendations. (And I ain’t complainin’ one tiny bit. *grins*)

    It’s fascinating seeing how your reading tastes have changed over the years! So much so that I kinda want to write a dedicated blog post just about that question. o.o (Would that be awful? It’s just a really cool concept to explore!) And I’m totally with you, once I discovered fantasy I hardly ever went back to what I used to read. Heh. But also my tastes have broadened a LOT, which I’m actually glad of!

    My kindle app is SOOO full of free ebooks that I NEVER read. It’s such a problem!

    I love how you accidentally got into book reviewing. Hehe.

    I’m trying to think of any book endings I particularly disliked but…ya know, I can’t think of any. o.o Most books I’m quite satisfied with the endings. I guess that’s a good thing!

    *le gasp* Take a sneak peek at the ending??? PEOPLE DO THAT? I guess it makes sense for a book you’re hating and planning on DNF’ing though, yeah.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knowww. I only do the tags I get tagged for or see and NEED to do, but there are just so many. O_O I’m fairly sure one could have a blog ENTIRELY for tags and just post regularly and it would work. πŸ˜„ So many tags out there!

      It’s funny how drowning in recommendations isn’t a bad thing, isn’t it? πŸ˜„

      Yeah, it’s interesting to see how taste changes. That would actually be a really interesting blog post! DO IIIIT. Ya know, if you want. πŸ˜„ FANTASY FOR ALWAYS! But yeah, I too have some slightly broadened tastes as well. I just read what I feel like. *nods*

      All the free ebooks. O_O We have soooo many similar bookish “problems” that shouldn’t be! πŸ˜„

      Only I can do something as ridiculous as accidentally getting into book reviewing — I’m glad you like it. πŸ˜›

      Most book endings are good, yeah. Definitely a good thing to be satisfied! πŸ™‚

      I usually don’t sneak-peak… Ahem. It’s normally bad though, yeah, but sometimes can be helpful?

      Like

  5. Pingback: Blog Party Wrapup + Winners | The Road of a Writer

Discuss!

