July Reading Roundup + Announcements

1 Hidden Gems 2Before I get to the books I read in July, I have a quick announcement to make! A good friend and lovely blogger, Shantelle @ A Writer’s Heart, is kicking off an exciting blog event today, which will run till late-November, and I’m excited to tell y’all about it!

It’s called Hidden Gems: Authors You Need to Discover.

In this blog event, Shantelle will be posting every Monday from now till November 21st. Each week she will be spotlighting or interviewing an author and their books, and she’s got a pretty exciting line-up, let me tell you! There will also be a giveaway each week.

We’re also encouraged to blog about/review the books being spotlighted each week, if we happen to know them, so that can also be a fun part of it, if you like! I’ll hopefully be doing so at least once. πŸ™‚

Anyhow, I for one am excited about this event. I think it’s going to be a lot of fun! πŸ™‚ The first post is up already so dash on over there, do! And remember to keep watching (maybe follow her lovely blog? *nudges you that direction*) for the rest of them! πŸ™‚ You won’t want to miss this! ^_^

ReadingRoundup2

On with the show . . .

I finally broke out of my 4-books-per-month streak — YAY! Only by a couple, but still. *cough* I planned to read WAY more but life happened. *shrug*

Anyway, here’s what I read in July . . . I’ve been reading really WEIRD books for me! O_O A historical fiction, 4 contemporary novels (1 alternate history modern fantasy, 1 superhero fantasy, 1 Diana Wynne Jones book which is its own category, and 1 spy contemporary), as well as a steampunk. Fascinating!

4starrating

1. The Silent Blade – Jesseca Wheaton

I reviewed this one. Kidnappings and siblings and Ireland and AWESOME Irish names and all that good stuff. As I said in my review, I might have rated it 3.5… but I bumped it up to 4. I’d have enjoyed it more if I’d read it awhile back when I was younger and I had some problems with it storywise, but on the whole it kept me reading and made me happy in the end. ^_^

5starrating

2. Twinepathy – C. B. Cook

I reviewed this one too! *huggles book* And, for a briefer review, here’s a little something I wrote up for “advance praise” to go in the paperback version. πŸ˜€ (I think it’s the first time I’ve been printed in a book? ANYWAY IT EXCITES ME.)

Gripping and fun, Twinepathy is an un-putdownable read that swept me off on a thrilling ride. Featuring an eclectic cast of characters who stole my heart, a mystery with a memory-thief which kept me guessing, and original superpowers that had me longing to enter the book myself, this is a fabulous read to lose yourself in. I loved it and can’t wait for more!

3starrating

3. The Last Dragonslayer – Jasper Fforde

I… don’t know what to rate this because most of it was a 5 star but I didn’t like the ending, so… I’m currently compromising with a 3 star rating, but I’ll probably eventually end up giving it either a 2 or a 4, depending which emotion (enjoyment or disappointment) wins out in the long run. πŸ˜„

I loved the first half and assumed it was an automatic 5 star read, but then it got scary… and then the ending was really sudden and not what I wanted. Apparently my problem is that I was really enjoying it and then it let me down. *shrug* Others might enjoy it though. And I did love the humor and it was quirky and fun and imaginative and well put together. But some of the ending upset me, and some of it I didn’t care about. I do want a Quarkbeast though . . .

(You can see the rest of my slightly longer, similarly rambly “review,” with some more hidden in spoiler tags, HERE on Goodreads.)

5starrating

4. Archer’s Goon – Diana Wynne Jones (reread)

ALL THE STARS. (Please do NOT let the weird cover put you off!!! Artists notoriously really don’t know what to do with DWJ brilliance and tend to bungle it and make her books look unappetizing which is hugely unfortunate. -_-) I reread this aloud and . . . MY GOODNESS, THIS BOOOOK. ❀ ❀ ❀ I read it last year and it was one of my favorites, and it was even BETTER this time. *collapses* I JUST LOVE IT SO MUCH. It’s quirky and ridiculous and hilarious and mashes so many genres together beautifully and its about a couple of crazy families (including a family of power-hungry wizards who are a MESS) and it’s set in modern times but I don’t mind and has fantasy/sci-fi/time things and the characters are all precious beans, even the ones you don’t like, and it just had me laughing all the time, plus there’s a writer in the story, which is a bonus, and reading it aloud and doing all the voices was the most fun ever. I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUUUUCH. It’s definitely one of my top favorite Diana Wynne Jones books. ❀

4starrating

5. Ashburn – Julia Erickson

I keep reading secret agent books! In this case, a secret-agent, Christian/Romance/Spy/International Thriller/Mystery type of book. This one was quite fun and I rather enjoyed it. πŸ™‚ I plan to write up a review for it… hopefully I’ll post it later this month. But the romance was sweet and the excitement was thrilling and the characters were fun, and it had a feature of interest namely that although it’s about a secret agent and a girl who gets swept up in all of that, they were both homeschooled originally. ‘Twas interesting. *nods* (Likely because the author was homeschooled. ;)) Anyhow I liked it and hopefully I’ll review it!

5starrating

6. The Rose and the Balloon – Kirsten Fichter

This stoooory! *huggles it* This was a truly delightful Beauty and the Beast novella, and guess what — it just released TODAY! So go read the hilarious post (and the one before) on the author’s blog in which the twins Prince Nicolas and Princess Nicoline from the story take over the blog. It’s so fun. πŸ˜„ And get yourself a copy! Or wait for the ebook! Either way, you need this in your life. ❀ I will be posting an ACTUAL review for it on my other blog sometime this month, hopefully soon, so watch for that. And there’s a blogtour going on this week so that’s fun too! But Beauty and the Beast + steampunk + delightful characters + family + shenanigans = so much awesome! ❀

And that’s what I read this month…

So! Have you read anything good lately? Do you sometimes read outside your usual genre? What do you do when you love a book but don’t care for the ending? TELL ME ALL!

Also I will probably kind of be mostly on an internet hiatus for the majority of August… (I may post a review or two around here and also on my other blog — plus I need to get my Ishness post up there… But other than that I’ll likely be missing.) So I hope you have a FANTASTIC August and I will see you later! ^_^ Happy reading, all! ❀

Thanks for reading!

Dream away in those pages . . .

~ The Page Dreamer

12 thoughts on “July Reading Roundup + Announcements

  1. I have Twinepathy sitting on my shelf, waiting to be read, so, CAN’T WAIT! ❀
    I've heard of Jasper Fforde, and I'm kind of curious about his works…*shrugs* I might check them out.
    Ashburn looks epic, so yeah, need to look into that, because spies are my favorite. πŸ˜€ And The Rose and the Balloon looks fabulous too!! *huggles all the pretty books*

    Liked by 2 people

    • YAY! Twinepathy is so fun, you’ll love it! πŸ˜€ Excited for you to read it! ^_^
      Yeah, I might try some of his other stuff…
      You’d probably like Ashburn too. Yay spies! πŸ˜€
      IT’S AMAZING AND I ADORE IT SO MUCH LOVE. <33
      Thanks, Madeline! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked Ashburn, although its sequel had a little more romance since they got married…
    But I really need to read The Rose And The Balloon and The Silent Blade!!!! I’ve heard so much about both, I just haven’t gotten to pick them up…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! I love how diverse your reading month was. Too great! πŸ˜„

    I really MUST continue reading Twinepathy. It just seems so fun. And I’m still so excited your review got put in there. THE BEST!!!

    Those books that have some 5 star parts and some, like, 1 star parts are soooo hard to rate. UGH. I feel for you. That’s really sad about The Last Dragonslayer. Someday I hope to read it and then you can rant all you want about it to me. *nods*

    I NEED ARCHER’S GOON SO BAD. AGH. But I’ve never seen it ANYWHERE. I may have to search for it on Amazon or something… But yeah, the artwork for her books. :-/ Well, okay, I ADOOOORE the copies I have of HMC, Castle in the Air, and House of Many Ways. But some of the other stuff is just WEIRD. It makes me sad because some people may not pick up her awesome books because the covers throw them off. 😦

    Ashburn sounds like a really interesting story! I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like that, so I may need to try it sometime!

    I’M SO HAPPY YOU LIKED TRATB!!!! πŸ˜€ Wasn’t it just so funnn??

    A hiatus sounds lovely, and I hope you have a wonderful one. *huggles* (Even if I WILL desperately miss all the wonderful Celti posts.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heehee, it’s so weird all the weird stuff I’ve been reading. πŸ˜„

      YES YOU MUST IT’S SO FUUUUN! πŸ˜€ *flails around again because I’m so excited about my praise being printed in an actual book*

      Eh, yeah… it’s tough. :-/ Haha, yes, I’ll be sure to rant to you if you ever read it. πŸ˜„

      YES ARCHER’S GOOOOON!!! ❀ It's so crazy but I love it so much. πŸ˜› You could probably find it fairly cheap on Amazon… I hope you do someday! Eheh, yep, the notorious artwork of DWJ books. πŸ˜‰ Oh well… That's good you like your HMC trilogy covers though! πŸ™‚ *is ever so slightly jealous because I don't own Castle in the air* πŸ˜„

      You might like Ashburn! It's kind of fun, and international stories like that are neat, plus I bet you'd appreciate how it's clean and about former homeschoolers. *nods*

      YESSSSS TRATB WAS SO MUCH FUN AND I LOVE IT! ❀ I need to review it very soon… Sometimes I have no idea how to review stuff I really enjoy because it's like "IT WAS REALLY GOOD. READ IT. THE END." πŸ˜„ Oh well… I'll try anyway. πŸ˜›

      Thank you so much, Lauri! <333 And fear not, there will hopefully be some more posts soonish! ^_^ You da sweetest. *huggles back*

      Like

  4. Pingback: Ishness/Hiatus | The Road of a Writer

  5. Really feeling the need for DWJ in my life! I read Charmed, I think, when I was younger … or maybe it was a different one … I think I was in fact too young for it, but it was very vivid and even now I remember a lot about it. So I’d love to pursue her further.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m always feeling that, so glad you’re joining the club. πŸ˜„ I imagine it would be very vivid, even for one too young! I hope you try some more of her books sometimes because they’re brilliant. ^_^ Thanks for your comment, Emily! ❀

      Like

  6. Pingback: I’m Baaack! (All the Augustishness) | The Road of a Writer

Discuss!

