By the Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Shantelle @ A Writer’s Heart for the By The Book Tag! Thanks Shantelle! ^_^ I’m not tagging anyone specific, but if the questions look fun, feel free to snag ’em and let me know if you do it so I can see your answers! πŸ˜€

1. What book is on your nightstand now?

Ashburn by Julia Erickson. It’s fun so far! I don’t usually read contemporaries or thriller/suspense books, but I’m enjoying it. πŸ™‚

2. What was the last truly great book you read?

I just reread Archer’s Goon by Diana Wynne Jones, which was BRILLIANT. I love it to smithereens. ❀

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

Off the top of my head… J.R.R. Tolkien, Diana Wynne Jones, Lloyd Alexander, Stephen R. Lawhead, and Mirriam Neal. And so so SO many writer friends I know online, because that would be INCREDIBLE. Time would fail me to list them all here. ❀ And I’d want to know everything. πŸ˜„ And/or just chat. Because that would be fantastic.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves?

Um… nonfiction books? πŸ˜„ *surprise!* I don’t really know, though. I have a weird collection of books because my taste is odd and varied. πŸ™‚ Lots of people would probably be surprised at different books I own but it would depend on the person, probably. *shrug*

5. How do you organize your personal library?

The books I’ve read are (usually) organized alphabetically by author. But that changes if I feel like rearranging them by genre. My unread books are usually organized by which I want to read next and by genre.

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around yet?

OH SO MANY. So, so many. *points to ginormous TBR list*

A few off the top of my head: The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson, The Moorchild by Eloise Jarvis McGraw, and The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen.

toread1

7. Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read?

Hum. Not… really? Mostly I don’t feel like I HAVE to read books, or if I do, I’m not really embarrassed that I haven’t, because it just means I haven’t gotten around to them or don’t want to read them? I guess it’s a little sad that I haven’t read Emma by Jane Austen yet, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, or The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle.

toread2

8. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

Off the top of my head… The Little Prince, some of Hans Christian Anderson’s stories, and some of the stories in Five Enchanted Roses.

9. Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?

Ummm. I hardly ever don’t finish books. I can only remember like… 2. So I guess the last one was A Mighty Fortress by Faith Blum. It just wasn’t for me. *shrug*

10. What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

SO MANY! But mostly fantasy books, fairytale retellings, and I’m increasingly drawn to odder things like steampunk or heist books, just because they’re fun. Really though, I’m drawn to any kind of book that sounds interesting. πŸ™‚ IF IT’S GOOD, I’LL READ IT. (I know that’s vague. Shush. Don’t judge me. XD)

Stay clear of… Well, I try to avoid dystopians. They are not enjoyed by me… I also don’t like icky content in my books either, so I prefer clean books. I also don’t like really creepy stories, so thus far I mainly steer clear of paranormal or horror books, and I don’t do zombies in any form. πŸ˜„

11. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

Hmm. Previous answers were the Bible, which is a good choice. I’d say the American Constitution would be a good start too. πŸ˜‰

12. What do you plan to read next?

The Rose and the Balloon by Kirstin Fichter (a.k.a. KiriLiz), which is a steampunk Beauty and the Beast retelling novella, coming out August 1st! I’m very excited. πŸ˜€ I’d share the cover but it’s not out yet… however I hear that there may be a cover reveal next week, so I can’t wait for that! ^_^ Here’s a collage the author made from pinterest pictures instead:

How about you? What would your answers be to any of these questions?

Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

Dream away in those pages . . .

~ The Page Dreamer

27 thoughts on “By the Book Tag

  1. Fun post! So many good book-tags this summer, I will have to get back to blogging at some point and get caught up on all the ones that I was tagged for and all the ones that looked fun! πŸ™‚

    Read Pride and Prejudice (or just watch the movies, they’re pretty dead-on) and Inkheart, skip the Last Unicorn (bored me to tears… almost didn’t finish it… but made myself because “it’s a fantasy classic, apparently”)

    I’m currently reading (FINALLY) Storm Siren by Mary Weber (yay for church libraries that carry fantasy!) and enjoying it – in spite of the first-person present tense POV, which is pretty much my least favorite thing ever.

    Oh, horrible French class memories of the Little Prince (it’s not better in its native language… though it is a bit funnier).

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Jenelle! πŸ™‚ Yesss, there are so many fun ones. O_O I notice them more now that I have a specifically BOOK themed blog. πŸ˜„ You should! That would be fun. πŸ™‚

      I’ve read Pride & Prejudice, just not Emma. πŸ˜€ Oh noooo, The Last Unicorn was boring? D: That makes me sad. :-/ I will probably still try it since somebody else said they thought I’d like it but now I’m worried. πŸ˜„ Inkheart will definitely be tried!

      Ooh, fun! I keep seeing Storm Siren around… πŸ˜€ (Oh dear, first-person-present? O_O I’m with you there, it’s probably my least favorite thing ever too. XD)

      Good to know I’m not alone, even though I don’t know French. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 2 people

      • Ah, sorry, I think I was skimming a bit there and just looked at the book cover/saw “Jane Austen”. I haven’t read Emma, either.

        Hopefully you enjoy the Last Unicorn more than I did.

        I enjoyed Inkheart (though I actually liked the movie better than the book… the second book was better than the first one, and I need to read book 3 at some point)

        Liked by 2 people

        • Aha, figures. πŸ˜€ Yeah, I liked P&P a lot though, and I’ve heard good things of Emma…

          I hope so too. That’s unfortunate you didn’t like it. :-/

          Good to know! …Wow, you liked the movie better? Impressive! πŸ˜€

          Like

          • Have you seen the movie Emma with Gwyneth Paltrow? Love it!

            Yeah, it’s extremely rare for me to like a movie better than the book… but that’s one of the few. The really fun thing about it (at least, I think it’s cool) is that the author and Brendan Frasier are apparently good friends, as the dedication in the book is written to him as being the inspiration behind the book… and then he got to play the main character in the movie of the book that he inspired! πŸ˜€

            Liked by 1 person

  2. This tag is so fun! πŸ˜€

    I literally want to meet like EVERY author you listed in #3. Can you imagine how amazing it’d be to talk to TOLKIEN? Or DWJ? Or or or EVERYBODY. *dreamy sigh*

    My bookshelves are full of random stuff as well. πŸ˜„ Like yesterday I bought a book of Irish names because, ya know, it was 50 cents and IRISH NAMES. But I just have a bunch of weird stuff like that. Lol.

    Yes to #6. SO MANY BOOKS. My TBR pile is getting ridiculous. o.o

    Emma and The Last Unicorn are both books I’ve been meaning to get to FOREVER myself and still haven’t. One day…

    Oh, oh! You’re going to read The Rose and the Balloon? YAY. I think you’ll love it! I got to beta read it a while back and just adored it. ^_^

    Liked by 2 people

    • I knowwww, it would be the best to meet them… Heehee.

      Irish names! That’s awesome. πŸ˜€ We have a couple of those books around… I think they’re just last names though; and of course, we’re Irish, so. πŸ˜‰ But that’s the best! I love random books like that. πŸ˜€ (And 50 cents too! Awesomesauce!)

      *casually dies from TBR collapsing on me* Ahem. Not that enormous TBRs are a PROBLEM or anything. πŸ˜‰

      So much booktwins! πŸ˜€ Someday… yes…

      YES! πŸ˜€ I signed up as a reviewer and it just showed up in my inbox today. I’M SO EXCITED!!! *happy flailing* Aha! I had wondered if you beta read it… πŸ˜€ That’s the best! I’m glad you liked it and even more excited for it now that you said you think I will too! I just… gotta go review two or three other books before I can start. *cough* In fact I… should… be doing that right now instead of being on the internet… >.> *coughing fit* *sidles away*

      Thanks for your lovely comment, Lauri! ^_^

      Like

      • And no, I am not blog stalking. I’m simply catching up on Deborah’s posts since I’m new around here. *cough* Also, I’m finding it astonishing that I’m just now discovering this blog when it’s clearly quite amazingly awesome, and it took Deborah very kindly offering to review my story and share the cover to get me over here. *adds blog to following* Well, no longer!

        I am so excited that people are excited about my upcoming novella, but I have to say, Bessie, I felt a little creeped out when I saw your comment up above. I will admit, it took me about a minute to figure out who you were. But I’m blaming that on Juno. She’s always jealous enough to steal people’s memories. *winks*

        Liked by 1 person

        • Heehee, I’m honored, thanks! πŸ˜‰ And aww, thank youuu. ^_^ Well, it IS a rather fledgling new little blog over here, since I only started it this year, and it’s not my main blog, just for random bookish things. ^_^ And I’ll likely actually be REVIEWING your novella on my other blog, since that’s where I post “Official” reviews, and would have probably posted the cover reveal there as well but already had another blogtour I was a part of today over there… So much book goodness going on these days and all. πŸ˜‰ Anyway. Thanks for stopping by, KiriLiz! πŸ˜€

          *giggles at the rest of your comment* Eheh, must’ve been strange to see that, then. πŸ˜‰

          Like

  3. Ooh, this one looks fun! I’ll definitely have to give it a whirl. ^_^
    And I totally agree with you on the dystopian books…Not really for me either. The Lunar Chronicles is an exception kind of…but it’s still more sci-fi than dystopian. *shrugs*
    HA! I think it would greatly benefit our president if he read our Constitution… πŸ˜„

    Liked by 2 people

    • It is! That would be great — I hope you do! πŸ™‚
      *highfives* Hurray! You’re like, the first person who agrees with me on dystopian. O_O And yeah, that’s one of the reasons I’ve been hesitant on the Lunar Chronicles… but it sounds like the fairytale retelling parts and lovable characters would hopefully make up for it. πŸ˜„
      Heheh, yeah, our presidents would… πŸ˜›
      Thanks, Madeline! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I feels like I may need to read The Archers Goon :D. But Witch Week and Enchanted Glass are waiting on my bookshelf, so I suppose I’ll read them first *nods*. (also, I has a question. Which order is the Chrestomanci series supposed to be read in?)

    Liked by 2 people

    • YES. It’s so good! ^_^ Ooh, Enchanted Glass is fun too. πŸ™‚

      Oookay, complicated question with a complicated answer! πŸ˜„ Because there’s chronological order, and the order they were written in, and the order Diana Wynne Jones thought they should be read in, and the order *I* read them in, and they’re all different. πŸ˜› But this page here has them listed chronologically, and then in the order DWJ thought they should be read, and I think the latter is a good way to go, mostly. *nods* https://www.goodreads.com/series/43763-chrestomanci.

      My recommendation would be as follows: Charmed Life, The Lives of Christopher Chant (prequel about young Chrestomanci), The Magicians of Caprona, Witch Week, Conrad’s Fate (prequel about teen Chrestomanci, so after Lives and before Charmed Life), The Pinhoe Egg; and the short story collection, Mixed Magics, you might try reading before The Pinhoe Egg. *shrug* But really, I don’t think it matters super much the exact order you read them in, other than Charmed Life first and The Pinhoe Egg last. I hope that answers your question! ^_^

      Like

  5. Ashburn!! I hope you like it! πŸ™‚

    I was definitely disappointed in Hans Christian Anderson’s The Little Mermaid. Eeek! I can’t even. It burst my bubble for sure. πŸ˜₯

    FAIRY TALE & FANTASY! Of course! ^_^ Oh yes, horror/paranormal/zombies … no way! Those don’t even cross my mind when I think of book genres. :p

    The American Constitution WOULD be a good idea!!

    So glad you did this post, Deborah! I really enjoyed reading it! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Blessings!

    Liked by 2 people

    • YES! I actually finished and enjoyed it a ton! ^_^ I’ll have to write my review. πŸ˜€

      Eheh, yeah, The Little Mermaid is slightly notorious in that regard… >.>

      They’re the BEST genres! πŸ˜€ Yeah, me neither, really, I was just trying to think of stuff I stay clear of. πŸ˜„

      It would at that… πŸ˜›

      Yay! Glad you enjoyed it, Shantelle! Thanks again for tagging me because I had a blast! ^_^ ❀

      Like

  6. Pingback: By the Book Tag | Short & Snappy

  7. Pingback: Ishness/Hiatus | The Road of a Writer

  8. I can relate to having books on the shelf. I’m so behind on my reading. One of those books that I need to read and is just sitting on my shelf waiting to be read is “Emma” by Jane Austen.
    If you’re looking for a lighter dystopian series, I would recommend “The Selection Series” by Kiera Cass; I too grew tired of the extremely dark dystopian that some other novels have portrayed.
    I recently discovered Melanie Dickerson’s novels, I finished reading her first novel and absolutely loved it. So much so that I did a book review on it. πŸ™‚
    Really nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • So many books to read, yes! But that’s part of the fun. πŸ˜‰ Ooh, yes, I just finished Emma recently and really enjoyed it!
      Okay, thanks for the rec. πŸ™‚ I’ve been vaguely curious about the Selection series… I may try it one day.
      Ah, yes, I love Melanie Dickerson’s books! Such great fun!
      Thanks very much! And thanks for dropping by and commenting! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Top 12 Books I Read in 2016! | The Page Dreamer

Discuss!

