Bookish Book Lover Tag

I was tagged by the lovely bookish (and author in her own right!) Shantelle Hannu @ A Writer’s Heart for a new fun tag which she created, the Bookish Book Lover Tag. Thanks ever so much, Shantelle! πŸ™‚

So let’s get to it! (I think I took all the covers from Goodreads… and I didn’t feel like linking to them all but if you want to look any of these up — which you totally should — you can find them on my Goodreads.)

Rules

  • Use the Banner
  • Answer the Questions
  • Use Lots of Book Covers *smiles*
  • Tag Your Bookish Friends!

Questions

1) What Book Are You Currently Reading?

Defying Shadows by Ashley Townsend, which I’m beta-reading (it’s releasing soon!). It’s excellent so far. πŸ˜€

2) What’s The Last Book You Finished?

The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson. I loved it!

3) Favorite Book You Read This Year?

Let’s see if I can keep it down to a handful…

Paper Crowns by Mirriam Neal, Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones, Blood Ties by Hazel B. West, The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson, The Map: A Jackaby Story by William Ritter, and The Castle Corona by Sharon Creech. That’s a start. πŸ˜‰

4) What Genre Have You Read Most This Year?

Definitely fantasy, of all shapes and sizes.

5) What Genre Have You Read Least This Year?

Hmm. Either non-fiction or mystery.

6) What Genre Do You Want To Read More Of?

I’m going to go with Shantelle’s answer and say fairy tale retellings. πŸ™‚

7) How Many Books Have You Read This Year, And What’s Your Goal?

I’ve read 45, and my goal is 60, so… it looks like I’ll make it, yay! πŸ˜‰

rdchllg2016

8) What’s The Last Book You Bought?

Just did a post about this. πŸ™‚

bookhaul1

JunSale2016

9) What Book Are You Saving Up To Buy Next?

Briette by Anita Valle. (Yes, this is one of the few ebook series I’ve gotten addicted enough to that I actually BUY ebooks. *gasp*)

10) How Many Books Did You Check Out Last Library Visit?

Just the one… *sadface* But it was The Golden Braid, which I mentioned, and I really enjoyed it! (I wanted to check out a bunch more, but I’m so busy so I exercised restraint. *gasp*)

11) What’s A Book You Can’t Wait To Read?

Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd, which has been waiting on my To-Read-Soon pile for a long time…

12) What’s A Series You’d Recommend to Everyone?

Goodness, I apparently don’t read many series since I’m having a hard time thinking of one! O_O (I start lots but don’t always get around to finishing them… yet.) Umm… I’m going to cheat and just say a book instead of a series. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones (you knew it was coming. ;)).

howl2

13) Who’s An Author You’re Hoping Writes More?

Heather Dixon! She’s only got two books out (Entwined and Illusionarium) both of which I loved. (Also, gotta be some of THE best covers in the universe. ❀ Amazing how the stories inside are even BETTER — can you believe it??)

14) A Few Books Your Heart Adores?

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, Paper Crowns by Mirriam Neal, The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall, Searching for Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede, The Gammage Cup by Carol Kendall, The Ordinary Princess by M. M. Kaye… and so many more!

15) What Series’s Coming Conclusion Makes You Sad?

Hmm, I don’t usually get sad at series endings because I don’t usually make it there and/or the series are often all published already by the time I read them. But… I think I’ll be a little sad when the Six of Crows series by Leigh Bardugo is over because there’s only two books… There should be more than two. πŸ˜„ (Also because I’m worried to death about Kaz and company. >.> So much worry. Eek.)

16) What Books Are On Your Wish-List?

Oh, so many (particularly some Diana Wynne Jones books…)! But I do keep a wishlist shelf on Goodreads. (There are some I’ve read that I want to own that I haven’t added on there, but still.) At the moment (it seems to change), a few near the top of my wishlist (some of which have yet to be published!) are: Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter, Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, The Silent Songbird by Melanie Dickerson, King’s Blood by Jill Williamson, Briette by Anita Valle, Finn Family Moomintroll by Tove Jansson, the third Skulduggery Pleasant book, and Very British Problems by Rob Temple.

Tagging

I tag… Hmm. I’m so bad at tagging people and I never know who to tag. -_- I have no idea if you’d like to do it or not but I tag the following people and if you want to do it, great; if not, please ignore me. πŸ˜„

Lauri // Mary // Madeline // Lisa // Abi // Tracey // Jenelle // Cait

I also tag anyone who’s reading this and wants to do it! (Either on your blog or in the comments below!)

BOOK TAG YAY! It’s quick and fun and easy, I promise. πŸ˜€

(Here’s the questions readily copy-paste-able for anyone who’d like to do it! :))

1) What Book Are You Currently Reading?
2) What’s The Last Book You Finished?
3) Favorite Book You Read This Year?
4) What Genre Have You Read Most This Year?
5) What Genre Have You Read Least This Year?
6) What Genre Do You Want To Read More Of?
7) How Many Books Have You Read This Year, And What’s Your Goal?
8) What’s The Last Book You Bought?
9) What Book Are You Saving Up To Buy Next?
10) How Many Books Did You Check Out Last Library Visit?
11) What’s A Book You Can’t Wait To Read?
12) What’s A Series You’d Recommend to Everyone?
13) Who’s An Author You’re Hoping Writes More?
14) A Few Books Your Heart Adores?
15) What Series’s Coming Conclusion Makes You Sad?
16) What Books Are On Your Wish-List?

Dream away in those pages . . .

~ The Page Dreamer

27 thoughts on “Bookish Book Lover Tag

  1. Eep! Yay! Thanks for tagging me πŸ™‚ I enjoy doing these. (I’m not always good at getting around to them, but I think they’re fun).

    Love all your bookish answers. Yay for DWJ and The Ordinary Princess! And Searching for Dragons!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome! Ehehe, I’m the same way — I have a whole bookmarks folder stuffed with tags I need to do. πŸ˜„ But yes, fun!

      Thanks! And DWJ, The Ordinary Princess, and Searching for Dragons, are always good for any occasion. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. AHHHH, YOU TAGGED ME!!!! *tackle-hugs* YOU SWEET PERSON YOU. I FEEL LIKE USING ALL CAPS RIGHT NOW BECAUSE WHY NOT. CAPS ARE LIFE.

    Okay, okay. I’ll calm down a little bit. BUT NO, NOT REALLY BECAUSE THIS IS A TAG ABOUT BOOOOOKS. *devours all the books* *drools over all the book covers* EEP, I’M JUST SO EXCITED!!!

    Ooh, I loved The Golden Braid! Of course, I love every Melanie Dickerson book ever but yes. That one was wonderful. *nods* AND WHAT, HOW HAVE YOU EVEN READ 45 BOOKS ALREADY??? I’ve read like…20. I KNOW, IT’S BAD. I’m just such a busy dragon that I never have time to read anymore. *dissolves in a puddle of bookish withdrawal tears*

    I may or may not be thinking about checking Howl’s Moving Castle out from my library soon. Probably next month. (IF I CAN WAIT THAT LONG.) Also, yesss, Heather Dixon NEEDS to write more books!! Like…like…how will we survive without them??? HER BOOKS ARE SOME OF MY FAVORITES OF FAVORITES AND THEY HAVE BEAUTIMOUS COVERS AND AND AND ASDGLDJH.

    Thanks again for the tag! I miiiight end up doing it in one of my giant tag posts I have planned, but no promises. IT LOOKS REALLY FUN, THOUGH, SO I PROBABLY WILL. But y’know, it’s kinda hard when you already have 10 tags to catch up on. *cough, cough*

    Liked by 1 person

    • AAAH YOU’RE WELCOME AND I’M SO GLAD IT EXCITES YOU INTO USING CAPS. πŸ˜„

      Books are the best! *nods sagely*

      Aaaall the Melanie Dickerson books, yes! πŸ˜€ And that’s only because I did like nothing but read in Jan/Feb and it was kind of ridiculous. *cough* I hope you’ll get to read more books soon! ^_^

      YESSSS you must read Howl! πŸ˜€ I verrrry much hope you enjoy it and look forward to hearing about it if you do! ❀ We NEED more Heather Dixon books…

      Oh, I feel you. I have like over a dozen tags I need to get to myself! πŸ˜„ Anyways, if you get to it, that's cool and I'll love reading it, but if not no pressure too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Thanks for tagging me!! πŸ˜€ I will definitely have to do this one later on. ^_^
    Gah, yes, I’m pretty worried sick about Kaz and Inej and Matthias and pretty much everyone. O_O
    I am really hoping Heather Dixon writes more! Her stories (at least what I’ve read so far) are absolutely wonderful! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OKAY I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS TAG. Thank you so much for passing it my way. I will absolutely be doing it one day. THIS TAG IS FABULOUS. I mean, hello? BOOKS.

    I love how you have so many books you love you read this year. It’s been a good reading year!

    OBVIOUSLY HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE HAD TO BE RECOMMENDED. We’re successfully spreading the word! *fistbump*

    Heather Dixon absolutely NEEDS to write more. YES PLEASE. And wow, I’ve never looked at her two books side by side like that. They are perfect together! They both have silvery foregrounds that compliment each other. SO MUCH PRETTY.

    Just YES to #14, the books you adore. Except I haven’t read The Penderwicks and The Ordinary Princess…YET. BUT HMC AND PAPER CROWNS AND SEARCHING FOR DRAGONS AND THE GAMMAGE CUP. ALL MY BBYS. ❀

    This was just too fun to read! Thank you again for tagging me!!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY!

      And… yeah, I guess it has been a good year of reading so far. πŸ™‚ Although part of the reason I guess I needed to list a bunch was because there wasn’t ONE particular one that was just INCREDIBLE so I just did a bunch of “good” ones. So in that sense it feels like I haven’t found anything super amazing this year? I dunno.

      YESSSS SPREAD THE HMC LOVE! πŸ˜€ I love how we’re influencing the whole world to read it. πŸ˜„ (Let’s see, that one… and I keep getting everyone to read Illusionarium… I wonder what’s next. :P)

      I know, right?? They’re so PRETTY together! ^_^ We definitely need more. πŸ˜€

      YOU MUST READ THE PENDERWICKS AND THE ORDINARY PRINCESS BECAUSE THEY ARE PRECIOUS AND JUST LAKSDJKJ MY HEART. ❀ But yessss to HMC/Paper Crowns/Searching for Dragons/Gammage. πŸ˜€ That's so wonderful you've read them and loved them. ^_^

      Thanks! And you're super welcome! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. THIS POST. SO much awesomeness and bookishness and ALL THE PRETTY COVERS *flails*. And oh my, this tag looks so FUN!! I’m definitely nabbing it :D. I mean, BOOKS. I can’t pass it up XD. (and hey, my blog’s private, but if you want to be invited so you can see my post of bookish-ness, you can email my mom (theperrans AT cox DOT net), and I’ll invite you!)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this post so much, Deborah!! So glad you could do the tag! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Ooh, beta-reading Defying Shadows? Wonderful! I’m looking forward to that one!

    The Golden Braid!!!! *huggles book* I loved it as well! One of my favorites from Melanie Dickerson! ❀

    I'm very interested in reading Paper Crowns … for one, I LOVE that cover! The blue cat … eep! πŸ˜€ And I’ve been hearing lots of good things about it lately.

    20 book ahead of schedule! You go, girl! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I was rather expecting Howl’s Moving Castle … πŸ˜‰

    HEATHER DIXON!! I love Entwined so, so, so, so much! ❀ ❀ ❀ I hope Heather writes more too! And I still need to read her other book!

    Awesome post! Hope you're doing well! Blessings! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay, glad you enjoyed it! Thanks again for tagging me! ^_^

      YES. πŸ˜€ I think you’re going to really like Defying Shadows — it’s really good so far! πŸ™‚

      All of Melanie Dickerson’s books are awesome! But I particularly liked this one for the twist! πŸ˜‰

      Paper Crowns is FABULOUS. It makes me happy. ^_^

      Thank you! I had no idea I’d be reading so much when I made that goal on Goodreads. πŸ˜„

      Haha, you know me so well. πŸ˜‰

      YES HEATHER DIXON. We need more! We do. And Illusionarium’s sooo good if you don’t mind a bit of creepy. πŸ˜›

      Thanks so much! And yes I’m doing well, thanks! ^_^ ❀

      Like

  7. Eeeep, thanks so much for the tag, Deborah!! πŸ˜€ I was kind of thinking of doing a bit of an overview of the first half of the year’s reading?!? AND THIS WOULD WORK PERFECTLY. EEEEEEP.

    Also Heather Dixon’s covers are gorgeous. I want to read them because COVER LOVE AND NOT EVEN ASHAMED. πŸ˜‚

    Also congrats on being 20 books ahead of your goal!! Are you going to stop reading when you hit it or just keep going?! I’m 20 books ahead too, hehe, but I’m planning on taking a reading hiatus to write again soon so that should fix it a little hhaah. ahem. *glares at TBR* Not that I can really afford to stop reading but WHATEVER. WRITING COMES FIRST! *flails away into the shadows*

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY YOU’RE WELCOME! ^_^ Heehee, I’m actually planning on stealing a mid-year tag you did LAST year for my midyear update soon. πŸ˜„

      YES YES! Heather Dixon’s covers are like my favorites ever. And you should totally read them BECAUSE THEY’RE AMAZING INSIDE TOOOO! ❀ (But yes, cover love. NEVER SHAME FOR THAT!)

      Thank you! And ahaha, I'm TOTALLY going to keep reading when I hit my goal! πŸ˜„ That was just a minimum goal but I'm not going to stop EVAR! πŸ˜› Ooh, yay that you're ahead too! Taking a hiatus to write sounds like an excellent idea. Because, you know, the world neeeeeds more Cait books! πŸ˜€ *nods* As long as your TBR doesn't fall on you. πŸ˜‰ BUT YES WRITING IS ALWAYS FIRST YAY!

      Like

  8. Pingback: Junishness {2016} | The Road of a Writer

  9. Pingback: Bookish Book Lover Tag |

  10. Pingback: Top 12 Books I Read in 2016! | The Page Dreamer

Discuss!

