Reading Roundup #4: April 2016

ReadingRoundup2

“So… I remember part #1, but where is part #2 and #3?” you ask.

Ahem. Do not question.

I have not had internet much in the last… er… three weeks? and therefore have not been blogging, and I happen to feel like writing this short post but not those two (Feb. and March) just now… BUT I’M LEAVING ROOM IN CASE I GET TO IT. Yes.

So! My reading of April. Which… incidentally was VERY FEW. To be fair, though, one of them was ENORMOUS (looking at you, King’s Folly. 😉 ) and took me two weeks to read, which kind of adds up.

5starrating

Rather than posting it four times, I… am arbitrarily sticking this 5 star image here and saying all the books I read this month were 5 stars. I don’t know if it’s, strictly speaking, true… I tend to have trouble with such things soon after reading. *shifty eyes* I think I originally rated Guards! Guards! 4 stars, but I don’t know if I liked it less than the other three I read this month, and I enjoyed it possibly the most because it was so funny? I dunno. My whole rating system is a mess. XD

TalesMoomin

1. Tales from Moominvalley – Tove Jansson

The last of the Moomin books I currently have (many thanks to my awesome cousin!) this one was a collection of Moomin short stories, which were SO fun! I loved them. ❤ (Especially the ones about Snufkin. I may need to do a whole post about Snufkin, or at least about the books I’ve read so far, because he’s such a great character!) Anyways the stories were all cute/awesome, some more than others, and I just kinda adored this book. ^_^

GuardsGuards

2. Guards! Guards! – Terry Pratchett

I read this as a belated part of March Magics… My first ever Terry Pratchett book! Yes, I’m slightly addicted… I’ll definitely have to try some more of his books. 🙂 It’s technically “adult” and had a bit of language/rudeness, but mostly it was really good, and I simply LOVED all the humor and bizarre hilarity of all the fantasy tropes being flipped on their heads and… basically I could quote it all day (if it wasn’t a library book and already gone back…) and laughed a lot and it was so so so much fun. Huge thanks to Sarah for recommending it, and to March Magics for actually helping me get around to reading a Pratchett! I have hopes of perhaps reviewing it… I did in fact make notes for a review before having to send it back to the library so PERHAPS this shall happen…

SONGKEEPER-FRONT-COVER

3. Songkeeper – Gillian Bronte Adams

Oh my. The much-anticipated sequel to Orphan’s Song was INTENSE, I tell you!! I reviewed it on my other blog… This book, though! ❤ And all my favorite characters returning from Orphan’s Song… Suffice to say it was really good, if dark, and I’m really looking forward to book 3! EEK! 😀

KingsFolly

4. King’s Folly – Jill Williamson

Also intense and GINORMOUS and epic and… kinda dark, yes (I’m noticing a trend?) and basically I’m so happy to have Jill fantasy again and I love aaaall the characters. I’m also super super happy that I don’t have to wait a full year for the next book to come out, since it’s coming out in December. THIS IS GLORIOUS NEWS. I need it ASAP. I also reviewed this one on my other blog.

***

So that was what I read in April! All really good, and a very ODD collection of books… o.o But, ya know, that’s not surprising for me. 😉

Have you read any of these, or do they sound interesting? How was your April reading? 🙂

Dream away in those pages . . .

~ The Page Dreamer

11 thoughts on “Reading Roundup #4: April 2016

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed Guards! Guards! You definitely should read some of the other Discworld novels. Men At Arms (the next City Watch novel) is rather non-awesome for various reasons, but you can probably skip it and not miss much, to be honest. And the rest of the Watch novels are excellent. Or you can read Going Postal, which is also fabulous.
    And I *still* need to read King’s Folly . . . I will get to it eventually, I swear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! And I shall! 😀 Aww, that’s disappointing. :-/ But yes, I plan to read Going Postal at least! Yessss you must readeth King’s Folly! I’ll look forward to hearing what you think of it! 🙂

      Like

        • Okay, cool! I may ask you at some point, thanks. ^_^ At the moment I’m rather overwhelmed by the sheer NUMBER of Terry Pratchett/Discworld books and how there’s series within series that overlap and… yeah, I think for now I’ll be content tiptoeing through and just go one book at a time, starting with Going Postal. 🙂 But it’s awesome I have someone who’s deeper into the Discworld pond so to speak who I can consult. 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          • Don’t be intimidated! Just pick one miniseries to focus on, or just read the books that look most interesting- the Discworld series is nice in that the world won’t implode if you don’t read it in order. But yes, if you have any questions/need recommendations of what to try next, feel free to ask me!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t made my presence known on your blogs in AGES…but here I am at last.

    The Jill Williamson book looks really good! I haven’t read any of hers yet, but I follow her and the other authors on Go Teen Writers. And Songkeeper looks so epic! That cover is drool worthy, and I like what I’m hearing in reviews. (TBH, I was only mildly interested in Orphan’s Song came out, but now the sequel has me convinced I need to read these books.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • EEK you sweet thing! ^_^ *huggles* I’m really bad about commenting on your blog as well, I’m afraid (lackadaisical was I believe the word you used… this describes me. ;)).

      You should definitely try some Jill at some point! King’s Folly is INCREDIBLY well-written, though I prefer the plot of the Blood of Kings books better… and if you want some modern excitement any of her other stuff is good too! 🙂

      Yes, I personally liked Orphan’s Song much better than Songkeeper (just me personally; and I still liked Songkeeper a lot!) but if you prefer darker, deeper stuff, Songkeeper might be more your cup of tea. 🙂 BUT ORPHAN’S SONG IS SO GOOD I LOVE IT MUCHLY AND YOU SHOULD READ IIIT! ^_^

      Thanks for commenting, deary! ❤

      Like

  3. I literally am dying to read ALL these, namely Songkeeper and King’s Folly, but they all sound delightful. I do love how you read such a mix this month. Too much fun! xD It looks like you had an amazing April reading experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: In the Merry Month of May… {2016} Ishness | The Road of a Writer

Discuss!

