March Book Haul and DWJ #Shelfie

Where has March gone?? *flails*

There seem to be several delectable books that have made their way into my possession this month . . . so I thought it would be fun to share my March book haul.

Because we all love seeing pictures of stacks of books. 😉

BookHaulMar2016

This ARC came in the mail today and I’m SO incredibly excited to read it! (There may have been squealing and book-petting. Ahem.) Ever since reading The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest and learning that this sequel is about the Margrave from the first one… I can’t WAIT to read about his story!

These were birthday presents, which I’m delighted with so far! A Spy’s Devotion was lovely, I’m enjoying the banter of Skulduggery Pleasant, as always, and Susan Cooper has some interesting things to say so far on writing and fantasy.

  • Comet in Moominland
  • Moominsummer Madness
  • The Exploits of Moomipappa
  • Moominland Midwinter
  • Moominland in November
  • Tales From Moominvalley

(The Moomin books, by Tove Jansson)

The Moomin books were from an aunt and cousin who have impeccable taste in books, and I’m having the time of my life reading them — aloud, in a British accent, naturally. 😉 Originally written in Swedish by an inhabitant of Finland, they are a bizarre whimsical fantasy delight. So. Much. FUN! I’ve so far read two and a half, and my favorite character is SNUFKIN. You may hear a lot about him at some point… He’s the best. ❤

MarchMagics2016

What I’m hoping to read this month for #MarchMagics

These I got from the library this week, in honor of March Magics hosted by We Be Reading, and am so excited to read them! I haven’t read this DWJ book yet, and I’ve never read a Pratchett before, so I’m excited to try this one (especially since it was a recommendation from Sarah).

Speaking of March Magics… March has been speeding away in the blink of an eye and life has been too busy for me to read or post about Diana Wynne Jones… which annoys me muchly because I will take any excuse to read or talk about that author! But I’m hoping to get some reading in now.

And since the first prompt of the month (better late than never!) was to share your collection of Diana Wynne Jones (or Terry Pratchett) books, and/or which you were planning to read this month… and I just showed the ones I plan to read (and I wouldn’t say no to rereading any of the ones I own, if I have time, especially Dark Lord of Derkholm for the readalong this week) . . .

Here is my Diana Wynne Jones collection on my shelf.

DWJshelfie

It’s by no means all of her books, but I’m quite proud of what I HAVE collected. These were all careful, painstaking, slow-and-steady sporadic finds at various library sales (except for Fire and Hemlock, and The Tough Guide to Fantasyland, which were more or less Christmas presents).

(I’ve also read Enchanted Glass, The Pinhoe Egg, Castle in the Air, and Reflections: On the Magic of Writing, but tragically do not own them. Yet.)

dwjbooks

And I couldn’t resist sharing them all laid out as well. *huggles all the loverly books*

So. Books, both new and old. ❤

Do you have a recently-acquired book you’re excited about?

If you’ll excuse me, I’ll be off now . . . I have a lot of reading to do . . . 😀

Dream away in those pages . . .

~ The Page Dreamer

17 thoughts on “March Book Haul and DWJ #Shelfie

  1. I just got a copy of Jill Williamson’s King’s Folly, which was quite the pleasant surprise.
    You must let me know what you think of Guards! Guards! once you’re done with it! (I need to reread it sometime, come to think of it . . .)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Because we all love seeing pictures of stacks of books.” IT’S SO TRUE! And these are some drool-worthy stacks of books. o___o

    Look at all the DWJ books. LOOK AT THEM. *pets pictures* That is just so epic! Oooh, and is that a hardback of House of Many Ways? I have that copy, but it’s paperback. I didn’t even know there was a hardback one. NEED. Really, I need all of these things. Obviously.

    If you get to read Guards! Guards! do tell me how you liked it. I’ve been curious about that author for yeeears. I really need to give her a try someday, and I think we have quite a few of her books in the store I work at, so if you like this one I may have to give one of hers a shot. *nods*

    Hope you get everything read that you want to! Silly time is slipping away from us. >.>

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just love book-stacks! ^_^

      It didn’t occur to me that there was a PAPERBACK of House of Many Ways since I’ve always had a hardback. XD

      Okay, I’ll definitely let you know! Or possibly review it… I haven’t started it yet. 😛 (And… erm, methinks Terry Pratchett is a guy, actually. >.> In fact, a “Sir” Terry Pratchett. But I’ve done the same thing before. XD) I bet there are a lot at your bookstore. o.o There seem to be a ton of Pratchett books…

      Thank you! 🙂 Yes, time is mischievous indeed!

      Like

      • Oh! Bwahaha! I always do that. I forget Terry Pratchett is a guy. XD Sometimes I remember, but for some reason my brain refuses to think of a Terry as a guy. I don’t know why. Watch, in a week I’ll forget again and say she. It’s a vicious cycle… *shakes head*

        I do the same thing with another author, Terry Brooks. They’re both guys but I can never remember that. *facepalm*

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I got a bunch of new books right around the New Year that I’m working my way through. I am excited about all of them… but I’m especially excited because I just found out that I’m getting a paper copy of a book I agreed to beta read a while back, and I thought I was just getting a pdf or something! Eeep!

    I feel an overwhelming urge to read Charmed Life again. I love that book so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So. Many. Pretty. Books. *stares for prolonged amounts of time*
    You’ll have to tell us what you thought of Deep Secret when you’re done with it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very nice collection! I also got many of my books used (usually from Powell’s) so they are strange old copies and I love them. I noticed while rereading Archer’s Goon a couple of weeks ago just how bad my copy proved to be though because it is all wavy and doesn’t open properly. It doesn’t hurt the words one bit though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kristen! 🙂 Hurray for strange old used copies. ^_^ And it’s so true, the words inside are awesome no matter what. ^_^ (“all wavy and doesn’t open properly” sounds like something that would be IN a DWJ book about some book or other… XD)

      Like

  6. Pingback: March Magics Wrap-up | The Page Dreamer

  7. Pingback: Return of the Ishness! {March 2016} | The Road of a Writer

Discuss!

