Tales of Old (Fantasy Love Feb. Mini-Challenge 3)

FantasyLoveFebruaryReadingChallenge

A brief post today…

The mini-challenge of the third week of the Fantasy Love February Reading Challenge is to read an original fairy tale (Grimm… Hans Christian Anderson…) and then to answer the following questions. (Ooh, I like this one. :))

I’ve read most of the “classic” ones, and was at a loss as to which fairy tale to read (especially since I figured I’d be tempted to pick The Twelve Dancing Princesses, as my favorite… but I’ve already read every version of that I can find, so…), but I remembered that awhile back I’d been in the middle of reading through a collection called “The World’s Best Fairy Tales“, and hadn’t finished. So I pulled it from my shelf and opened it where I’d left off…

1. What fairy tale did you read?

The Tinderbox (Hans Christian Anderson; the book said it was from the Andrew Lang collection). It’s the one about the soldier, the tinderbox (naturally), the princess, and the three dogs with the interestingly large eyes… (Teacups, saucers, and millstones or towers were I believe the operative words…) It sort of sticks in your mind once you’ve read it!

2. Did you enjoy it?

I’d say so. It’s kind of odd, as many fairytales are, but I vaguely recall a shortened, illustrated version of it from a collection of children’s tales and verse, which I remember I loved. It has some similarities to a few other fairy tales, like perhaps Aladdin and his lamp, though obviously I — as a person rabidly mildly interested with The Twelve Dancing Princesses — ended up noticing that it has a slight resemblance to that… opening with a soldier meeting an old woman, and having an underground place with an emphasis on three areas and having copper, silver, and gold, and a princess who her parent(s) are worried about going out at night. …Okay, so maybe I’m over-thinking it. πŸ˜‰ Anyways, it’s a short tale, and interesting, with an occasional amusing turn of phrase. I’m not the biggest fan of Anderson, and some of it’s… weird… but still pretty fun. πŸ™‚

3. If there is a movie version of it, which is better? If there’s not a movie version, do you think there should be an adaption?

If there is, I haven’t seen it… πŸ˜› And I think it would make an odd movie! There’s kind of not that much to it? But I supposed all adaptions of fairy tales manage to build more on the story than was originally there…

4. Is this the first original fairy tale you’ve read?

Not at all — I’ve read many others! πŸ™‚

5. Do you want to read any more original tales now?

Yes, I hope to read many more in the future! Fairy tales are fascinating. πŸ™‚

***

In case you can’t tell, I’m having a lot of fun being a part of these Fantasy Love February challenges. πŸ˜€

13 thoughts on “Tales of Old (Fantasy Love Feb. Mini-Challenge 3)

  1. I don’t think I’ve read that particular one. I actually like Hans Christian Anderson quite a lot… yes, his stories are odd… but something about them… πŸ™‚

    I could think of absolutely nothing for the fan art challenge (artist, I am not… and anything I did was going to take about 100 years… which I don’t have right now) LOL But reading a fairy tale… that I can do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy that you are enjoying the challenges πŸ˜€
    And oooo, an interesting choice. I’ve seen this story in my rather large volume of Anderson fairy tales, but haven’t read it yet. Honestly, from your description, it sounds quite different from what I imagined it to be. But a good different- definitely more interesting, anyways.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eeeee, how fun! I love this!!

    I don’t think I’ve ever read this one before (or don’t remember). All those classic fairytales do get so strange sometimes, but I still love them. They have a certain feel that nothing else has, and I like it, even if they can get creepy and just plain out weird.

    It’s so crazy you did this, because just this morning I was thinking I’d love to pull out my fairytale collections and read some! It’s been a good long while since I’ve read any.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, you must try it someday. πŸ˜€ And yes, they can get odd/creepy, but I agree there’s something fun about their feel. πŸ™‚

      Oh really? That is so funny! πŸ˜€ I love those braintwin moments. πŸ˜„ I seriously need to read some more myself…

      Like

  4. Pingback: Ishness of a February Variety | The Road of a Writer

Discuss!

