Fantasy Love February Nightstand Books

Today’s post is a mix of… well, of three different things, all scrumptiously rolled together into one.

Firstly: Nightstand Books, which is a fun bookish monthly meme, the first Wednesday of every month, held by Jenelle and D.J.

Secondly: Jenelle is also doing a Fantasy month thing for February… Check out her post here!

February-Fantasy-Month-Banner

In case you don’t know, fantasy is my FAVORITE.

Thirdly: Grace @ Fictionally is holding a Fantasy Love February Reading Challenge which I am — tentatively? — joining in on. (That is, I hope to be able to read a bunch of fantasy, but my reading goals always tend to do whatever they want instead of what I want, soo… we’ll see.)

FantasyLoveFebruaryReadingChallenge

So! Because Nightstand Books is about what we’re reading this month, and since the first part of the first mini-challenge within the Fantasy Love February Reading Challenge is to post the book/books you plan/hope to read for the challenge… and since this all relates to fantasy… it’s all coming together in this post!

Apparently February is a lovely (see what I did there?) time to celebrate fantasy. Huzzah! It’s the perfect excuse for me to read some fantasy books I’ve been meaning to read.

Here’s my nightstand currently… (Not all of it’s fantasy… but that’s why this is the Nightstand Books part…)

nightstandbooks2016feb
I’m working on going through all the Holmes stories, so right now I’m working through The Original Illustrated Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, which contains three collections of short stories (one of which I read last month) as well as The Hound of the Baskervilles. I’m currently in The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes; then it’s on to Hound and Return. I’m loving reading these, especially since short stories can be read fairly quickly, and I simply adore the original illustrations by Sidney Paget! They’re the essence of the Holmes tales, right there. ❀

Also started The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (edited by Humphrey Carpenter and Christopher Tolkien). I read most of this book quite some time ago, but never actually got all the way to the end, and it’s been a long time so I don’t really remember them… Hence, I’m restarting and hoping to go through the whole thing this time. It’s fascinating and I love being in the mind of my favorite author.

Similar story to above: The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynne Jones is a book I’ve read bits of but never sat down to read all the way through. Set up as an A-Z “guidebook” to Fantasyland, it’s tongue-in-cheek, making fun of cliches and just having a rollick, and it’s quite hilarious.

So those are what I’m currently in. (I’d also kind of like to read a few of the books I didn’t get to in January, like Rising Shadows and The Poisoned Cure… but we’ll see.)

But! Then I’d also like to read some fantasy for said reading challenge. So these are (tentatively) what I’m hoping to read in February.

Aaand I may end up suddenly having a bunch of other books to review, or going to the library and getting a bunch of random things, or having no time to read because I’m busy and/or writing, so this may not happen, but I’m hoping to, anyway!

2febnightstandbooks2016

So… Nightstand round #2 (yes, Tough Guide to Fantasyland is in both. πŸ˜€ )

What’s on your nightstand? Anything fantasy-ish? πŸ˜‰

Dream away in those pages…

~The Page Dreamer

15 thoughts on “Fantasy Love February Nightstand Books

  1. I’m happy you’re joining in, Deborah! And what a lovely stack of books, both fantasy and non-fantasy. “Moonblood” is one of my favorite books in “The Tales of Goldstone Wood,” so I especially hope you can get to that one. I plan to read a “12 Dancing Princesses” retelling as well, “Wildwood Dancing.” I’ve not read a full retelling of this particular story, so I hope it’s good. and if you get around to reading your retelling, then I hope enjoy it as well.
    Thanks for joining in with Fantasy Love February!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yess, I can’t wait to read Moonblood! I’ve heard it’s a favorite with many! πŸ™‚

      12 Dancing Princesses is my FAVORITE fairytale and I love to read different retellings of it! (My favorite ones so far are Entwined by Heather Dixon, and Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George.) I agree with Jenelle: Wildwood Dancing was a pretty great book! I hope you’ll enjoy it! πŸ™‚

      I’m so excited to join in with all the lovely fantasy reading! Thanks for hosting it! ^_^

      Like

  2. Fantasy month is a fabulous idea . . . of course, every month is fantasy month for me. xD
    I do hope you can get to read Moonblood this month. And do let me know how “the Night Dance”, “Castle Corona”, and “Wolf Tower” are; all sound quite interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • “every month is fantasy month for me.” HAHA! I love this about you. XD It really should be… πŸ˜€

      I hope so too! Everybody loves Moonblood. o.o
      Will do! I read The Castle Corona yesterday and adored it! Hopefully I will review them if I read them all… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. All the fantasy happiness! πŸ˜€ Fantasy month–what a brilliant idea. I am in love!

    This looks like an absolutely scrumptious reading list! Those copies of Sherlock Holmes and Tolkien Letters are just lsdkjf;ljs;ldjfd. GORGEOUS. *droools* And that DWJ books looks way too fun!

    I see Moonblood on the list!! πŸ˜€ Sadly, I’ve never heard of Wolf Tower of The Castle Corona but I adore their covers!

    You know, I was thinking about reading The Night Dance this month myself. I want to read more retellings and fairytale-type things to get me in the right mood whilst I edit Burning Thorns. But, as you, my reading goals just go all over the place and never do what I plan. So, who knows. xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agh, me too!! Aaaall the fantasy! ❀

      I'm really enjoying Holmes and the letters, and yes, the DWJ book is hilarious, as usual. XD

      Yesss. Hopefully I will get to Moonblood. πŸ˜€ I know everyone loves it, so… πŸ˜‰

      Wolf Tower and Castle Corona were kinda random things I picked up… I just read CC and ADORED it. o.o Wolf Tower looks like it's going to be amusing. XD

      Ooh, reading fairytale-type things sounds like a good idea to help with your editing "feel"! But ohhh yes, do I ever understand reading goals just going all over the place. XD If you do read The Night Dance that would be fun though! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Wow! Three challenges/blogging things all tied up neatly in one post! I am in awe.

    I love Moonblood, it was my favorite Goldstone Wood Tale until I read Shadow Hand… which promptly took its place and is still strongly in first. I want to go re-read the first books again sometime in the nearish future.

    So many Diana Wynne Jones books I haven’t read yet. I think a trip to the library is in order. So far I haven’t even gotten a chance to peruse the library here’s fantasy selection… so I’m not sure how extensive it is.

    The Night Dance and Wolf Tower also look quite intriguing. I always come away from your posts with a list of books to go look into!! So, thank you πŸ™‚

    Aww, King’s Warrior is on your list. πŸ˜€ I hope you enjoy it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heheh. They just seemed to fit together… πŸ˜€

      I’ve heard so many good things of Moonblood! I can’t wait. πŸ™‚

      Yesss, you must read all the DWJ books. XD (There are still a TON I haven’t read either… o.o) Ooh, I hope your library has a good selection!! You definitely must find that out… πŸ˜‰

      Aww, you’re welcome! I’m glad it’s a help! ^_^

      Yes!! More Brant and co.! I’m looking forward to it and really hoping I can manage to read it this month!

      Like

  5. I really want to read The Tough Guide to Fantasyland!! It’s been on my to-read pile for far too long now. Man, I really need to read me some Diana Wynne Jones… XD
    I really loved the writing style in Wolf Tower and the story was interesting too. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Ishness of a February Variety | The Road of a Writer

  7. Pingback: Jenelle Schmidt February Fantasy Links

Discuss!

